It might cost more to rent a car in California. here’s why
Car rental costs in California could become more expensive for consumers under a state law that took effect in January.
The law, signed by Governor Gavin Newsom, passed the Legislature with virtually no opposition among lawmakers. It allows rental companies to charge a fee for additional drivers, although it exempts the renter’s children, siblings, parents and grandparents. Hertz, for example, charges $13.50 per day for each additional driver with a cap of $189.